Mike Fazio contributes to Textura’s new release Kubla Khan

Jo’s long time friend and collaborator Mike Fazio contributes a stunning piece “Waning Moon Over Sunless Sea”  for Textura’s new Kubla Khan project 




1. The Retail Sectors: “Precarious Awakening” (5:51)
2. Alexander Turnquist: “Fragments Vaulted Like Rebounding Hail” (17:25)
3. Ryan Francesconi: “Parables” (5:41)
4. Ryan Francesconi & Lili De La Mora: “Green To Red” (3:10)
5. Ryan Francesconi: “Deep Rivers Run Quiet” (4:13)
6. orchestramaxfieldparrish: “Waning Moon Over Sunless Sea” (18:44)
7. The Retail Sectors: “The Ever-Changing Scene” (6:46)

Despite the artists’ stylistic differences, Kubla Khan‘s admittedly disparate parts coalesce to deliver a resplendent listening experience that feels immensely satisfying and whole.

Since 1999, Mike Fazio has issued solo material under the orchestramaxfieldparrish guise and since 2005 been active as one-half of the experimental ambient-industrial outfit Gods of Electricity. Fazio’s symphonic sculpting of electric guitar- and pedal steel guitar-generated sounds is heard to marvelous effect on the frozen vistas of orchestral sweep comprising his recent release The Silent Breath of Emptiness. Drifting chords and sustained tones coalesce into metallic soundscapes of lyrical beauty during the work’s five connecting parts.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: